Skip to content

Immuta Identity Manager

Audience: User Admins

Content Summary: The Immuta Identity Manager is the default identity manager that works with the built-in IAM provided by Immuta. The Immuta IAM uses basic username and password authentication and is managed on the Admin page of the Immuta UI.

This page details how to manage users, permissions, groups, and authorizations within Immuta.

Note: To perform the actions on this page, the ADMIN permission is required. (See Permission and Authorization Overview for more information on user permissions.)

Managing Users

The following sections describe how to manage user accounts in Immuta.

Creating Users

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar and select the Users tab.
  2. Click the Add User button in the top right of the page.

    Add User Button

  3. Fill out the FULL NAME and EMAIL fields in the dialog. Note: The user's email address will be used as the username and must be unique.

  4. Click the Create button.

    Add User Dialog

Disabling Users

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and then select the Users tab.

  2. Select the user you would like to disable, and click the dropdown menu button in the upper right of the user details page.

  3. Select Disable.

    Delete User

  4. Click Disable in the confirmation dialog.

Managing User Permissions

The following sections describe how to manage permissions for a given user. For more information on user permissions, see the Permission and Authorization Overview.

Add Permission to User

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and select the user from the Users tab.

  2. Scroll to the Permissions section on the user details page, and click Add Permissions.

    Add Permission Link

  3. Click the Select Permission dropdown, and select the permission.

    Select Permission

  4. Click Close.

Remove Permission from User

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and select the user from the Users tab.

  2. Scroll to the Permissions section, and click the X on the permission pill you want to remove.

    Remove Permission

Managing Groups

The following sections describe how to manage groups for a given user. For more information on groups, see the Permission and Authorization Overview.

Create Group

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and then select the Groups tab.
  2. Click the Add Group button in the top right of the page.

    Add Group Button

  3. In the dialog, enter a unique group name. You can opt to enter a description of and email address for the new group.

  4. Click Save.

Add User to Group

  1. Select the group from the Groups panel.

  2. Scroll to the Members section, and click the Add Members button.

    Add Group Members Button

  3. Begin typing in the Search by Name or Email text box.

  4. Click on the name from the dropdown list to add this user to the group, and then click Close.

Alternatively,

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and select the user from the Users tab.

  2. Scroll to the Groups section, and click the Add User to Groups button.

    Assign User to Groups Button

  3. Begin typing in the Group Name text box, and select the group from the dropdown list that appears.

  4. Click Close.

    Assign User to Groups Link

    Note: If no groups match, the dropdown will be empty.

Remove User from Group

  1. Select the group from the Groups tab.

  2. In the Members section, click the delete button to the right of the member you want to remove.

    Remove Group Member

  3. Click Delete to confirm.

Alternatively,

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and select the user from the Users panel.

  2. Scroll to the Groups section, and click the delete button to the right of the group you want to remove.

    Assign User to Groups Link

  3. Click Delete in the confirmation window that appears.

Remove Group

  1. Select the group from the Groups panel.

  2. Click the dropdown menu in the top right of the group details, and select Delete.

    Remove Group

  3. Click Delete to confirm.

Managing Authorizations

The following sections describe how to manage authorizations for a given user or group. For more information on user authorizations, see the Permission and Authorization Overview.

Add User or Group Authorization

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and click the Users or Groups tab at the top of the page.
  2. Select the user or group you would like to manage.

  3. Scroll to the Authorizations section, and click Add Authorizations.

    Add Authorizations Button

  4. Begin typing in the Enter Authorization text box.

    • If the authorization already exists:

      • Select the authorization from the dropdown list.

        Add Existing Authorization

    • If the authorization does not exist:

      • Enter a name for the authorization, and then select this new authorization from the dropdown.

        Add Existing Authorization

  5. In the Authorization Value text box, enter the name of the value you want to add to the authorization.

    • If the value already exists:

      • Select the value from the dropdown list.
    • If the value does not exist:

      • Enter a value, and then select this new value from the dropdown.

        Add Existing Authorization Value

  6. Click Close.

Remove User or Group Authorization

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and select the Users or Groups tab.

  2. Select the user or group you would like to manage.

  3. Scroll to the Authorizations section, and click the Delete icon to the right of the authorization you would like to remove. Note: This action will remove the authorization and all of its values.

    Remove Authorization

  4. Click Confirm.

Remove Authorization Value

  1. Click the Admin icon in the left sidebar, and select the Users or Groups tab.

  2. Select the user or group you would like to manage.

  3. Scroll to the Authorizations section, and click the X on the authorization value pill you want to remove.

  4. Click Confirm.